• Multiple stage retention policies allow specification of the entire lifecycle of a document as one policy (e.g. review Contracts every year, and delete after 7 years)
  • Sarbanes–Oxley Act of 2002 requiring records to be kept for a certain amount of time
    and you can set review periods for records in between the time they are declared and when they are destroyed
  • SharePoint 2010 has the ability to create hierarchal folder structures and manage retention at each folder within the hierarchy (while providing the ability to inherit retention settings from parent folders)
  • Retention policies can be set up by content type, library or folder
  • By default, retention is enabled within a SharePoint site collection but there is a feature that can allow override of retention schedules on folders or libraries which is activated as a Site Collection Feature:
    • Enable-SPFeature -id LocationBasedPolicy -url “<site collection url>”


  • Retention policies are created in Site Settings –> Site Collection policies or Content Type Settings/List Settings –> Information management policy settings
  • The OOTB Actions when a stage occurs include:
    • Moving the item to the Recycle Bin
    • Permanently Delete the item
    • Transfer to another location
    • Invoke a workflow
    • Skip to the next stage in the policy
    • Declare the item as a record
    • Delete all previous drafts of the items
    • Delete all previous versions
  • The settings also allow a user to schedule recurrence on retention stages


API Reference – (Microsoft.Office.RecordsManagement. InformationPolicy Namespace)

using (SPSite site = new SPSite("http://devsp2010:1000"))
    using (SPWeb web = site.OpenWeb())
        SPList list = web.Lists["Shared Documents"];
        SPContentType ctype = list.ContentTypes["RezDocument"];
        if (Policy.CanHavePolicy(ctype))
            PolicyCatalog pc = new PolicyCatalog(site);
            var policy = (from p in pc.PolicyList.OfType<Policy>() 
                          where p.Name == "expireme" select p).First();
            Policy.CreatePolicy(ctype, policy);

The complete list of this series can be seen by the following links:

1. Introduction
2. Document IDs
3. Managed Metadata Service (Term Store)
4. In-Place Records Declarations
5. Site Collection Auditing
6. Content Organizer
7. Compliance Details
8. Hold and eDiscovery
9. Content Type Publishing Hubs
10. Multi-Level Retention
11. Virtual folders and metadata based navigation
12. Scaling
13. Send To…
14. Document Sets





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *